St Jarlath's College

Connacht Senior A Football Champions 2022

Connacht Senior A Football Champions 2022

Team photo - blurry.jpgSt Jarlath's 3-06 St Colman's 0-9

St. Jarlath’s College are the Senior A Connacht Colleges champions for 2022; after a huge tussle against gallant St. Colman’s, Claremorris- familiar and traditional rivals.

Colman’s have serious pedigree and claimed the Aonghus Murphy trophy twice in recent years, in 2017 and 2019.

A rocking and raucous Tuam Stadium was the venue, as it was for our crucial 7-3 victory over neighbouring school Claregalway the weekend before.

On each day, the conditions were tough; on each day the opposition were strong.

Colman’s claimed a convincing victory over The Bish in their semi final.

The quarter finals had seen the Mayo side conquer a formidable Summerhill- while SJC ground out a 9-7 triumph against the highly fancied, and defending champions, St. Gerald’s.

It must be noted, following a suspension of last year’s competition due to COVID, that the Castlebar school were defending the crown from 2020.

The nature of our wins underlined the importance of our back line, conceding just 10 points leading into the final.

To hold a sharp shooting Colman’s to 0-9, with again no goal conceded, in the decider was an added source of great pride and satisfaction to the panel.

As the SJC supporters filled the main stand with songs and chants, the atmosphere was a throwback to distant past deciders in that hallowed venue.

Our team began against the wind.

A lovely Patrick Egan clipped score, our only point of the first half, settled nerves.

However, Colman’s hit a purple patch. The team in red moved to 5-1 up with 4 flags raised between the 23rd and 28th minutes.

Arguably, the pivotal score was reached in the final minute of the opening half- a long dead ball from Alan Banks was guided to the net by inspirational captain Sean Birmingham- leaving SJC buoyant going into the dressing room.

This advantage would tell with the wind assisted foray into the “Town Goal” in the second half. A mesmerising period of dominance saw Patrick Egan add 2 composed finishes to the net, while Sean Birmingham kicked 4 points.

Credit to Colman’s, they would not die and added an impressive 0-4 against the stiff breeze to make the victory hard earned. Jarlath’s certainly fought for their victory; the shrewd game management and extraordinary commitment pleasing the management team of Niall Coyne, Micheal Keane and Andrew Carney.

The long awaited final whistle sparked jubilant scenes from supporters and indeed the entire school community; including past pupils and players.

The outpouring of emotion and joy an indication of what it meant to see SJC claim an historic 49th Connacht title.

Sean Birmingham raised the cup in the air, the famine in Connacht was over!

A victory to savour; much credit to the wider school community for their unstinting support. The team now eagerly await an All-Ireland semi final clash against Leinster champions Naas on February 26th. SJC Abú!!

ST JARLATH'S: K Gilmore; E Brady, B Coen, J McHugh; J Conneely, R Fahy, C Davin (0-1); B Cogger, P Egan (2-1); R Colleran, C Heneghan, L O’Shaughnessy; L Davin, S Birmingham (1-4, 1f, 1 mark), A Banks.

Subs: R Coen for O’Shaughnessy; S Canavan for L Davin; K Courtney for Egan.

Man of the Match: Paddy Egan

Coaches: Mr Carney, Mr Coyne & Mr Keane

Match Programme.jpg

Bishop Street, Tuam, Co. Galway, H54EV84
093 243 42
Roll Number: 68074M
Charity Number: 20202100
© 2023 St Jarlath's College